Military Children, shopping, Uncategorized

What’s a Grocery Store?

WordPress Image

Up until about middle school, I had no idea what a grocery store was.  Most of you are probably thinking, “How could you possibly not know what a grocery store was?  It’s where you buy all of the foods and drinks you need in a household.”  I agree that this does apply to any ordinary family.  On a military base however, people buy their groceries from the Commissary.

The Commissary is basically the military’s version of a grocery store.  It sells all of the food needed for a household.  The 1st and the 15th of every month are about the worst time to shop at the commissary though, because these dates are when the military gets paid.  Like any other grocery store, shopping on payday at the commissary is absolutely miserable.  You may end up in the store for a couple of hours at least.  If you want to avoid being in the commissary when it’s packed with shoppers, you should either go on a Wednesday or about an hour before closing.  I’ve learned that these are the times when the Commissary is basically empty.

I can still remember when I finally found out what a non-military grocery store was.  I finally found out about them when I was in middle school.  Middle school was one of the first times in my life that I finally lived in a house that wasn’t on a military base.  One day  I was riding around my neighborhood with my friend on our bikes.  After riding around for a couple of hours, my friend asked if I wanted to go to the grocery store down the street to buy a couple of snacks.  When I admitted to not knowing what a grocery store was, he looked pretty shocked.  It took me a while to comprehend the fact that people bought their groceries even outside of military bases.  Before that moment in life, I just assumed that all people just bought their groceries on military bases.

Standard

Leave a Reply

